A Celebratory Post!

So now that I am back to derby regularly again, its time for some good news! I will be doing my minimum skills test at the end of the month. This came about because of the first time ever, I passed my 25 in 5! I just about passed out, but I did it. It was probably one of my proudest roller derby moments.

Once I learned we would be skills testing, I got a bit worried because I still havent mastered jumping. Its this big huge thing that I am super paranoid about. So veteran skater took me out last practice and we worked on jumping, and guess what! I can jump! Its not consistent, but I am capable of doing it.

It’s been a long, hard road, but I’m finally getting there!

About Alicia

TV addict. Activist. Burlesque Dancer. Political Economy MA. Queer Theorist. Feminist. Cat Lady. View all posts by Alicia

2 responses to “A Celebratory Post!

  • Steph

    That’s great to hear!

    I’m just starting out with Derby myself. I “officially” joined 2 months ago. Unfortunately, 3 weeks of that I was either sick as a dog, I had to work or because of Thanksgiving.

    I’m confident enough to know I will eventually be able to get fast enough, and, have endurance (any lol). This is all very frustrating for me, however. Logically, I know there’s no way I can keep up with girls who are literally half my size and at least 10 years younger than me. Some have always been on skates or they were in team sports in high school/college. I feel kind of embarrassed getting lapped; being so slow on some drills everyone gets suck doing more squats and having to skate out of the way to the side of the rink to stretch my spazzing leg/foot/lungs. Oh, and, crossovers are so hard for me with the big knee pads and fat thighs. (lol so many complaints.)

    The last practice I went to I pushed my body so hard I was close to crying and whining over the weird back pain I was having by the end of practice (probably from the strain from being very top heavy..the “girls” are heavy ha!) . I HATE doing that in front of others. There aren’t many people I allow to see me upset.

    I did learn something good that night, though. I’m a natural blocker. It’s kind of hard for me to hit someone with my hips since they are smaller than my shoulders. Watch out though if I do use my shoulders. lol I wouldn’t just bounce off like one of the trainers told everyone. I’m glad to know this isn’t all frustrating.

    • Alicia

      Steph,

      I can completely relate to having moments of absolute frustration punctuated by the joy of discovering there is something that doesn’t feel like such a struggle. I’m glad to hear that you found a skill that can help maintain your confidence!

      For me, at least, derby has been a roller coaster of emotion. Some weeks I am feeling great and catching on and making progress, and then there are periods where I feel like I want to die because everything is just. so. hard. There are definitely practices where I get a little bit teary! However, I find the pride that I have in myself for continuing such a challenging sport is usually enough motivation to push me through those brutal practices.

Leave a Reply

