A New Blog!

Hello Everyone,

So I have been sporadically blogging my derby experiences at Fuck Normativity, but as I originally set up that space to share my anti-oppression thoughts, I decided I would create a dedicated derby only space.

So most girls seem to start a derby blog right when they start derby but, as I always toss out tradition, this  blog picks up 8 months into my derby career. I started derby in early November of 2010, and I have been (slowly) working at improving every since. The focus of this blog is to document my journey as a plus-sized skater in a recreational league. A purview of popular sites seems to me that there isn’t much focus on fat skaters or rec leagues. I hope to offer some little slice of that!

This blog is intended as a BODY POSITIVE space. I identify as fat, and while there are always struggles, I love myself and my body. This isn’t a space to talk about dieting or getting thin for derby. It’s a space to explore how, as a fat skater, I experience the amazing world that is roller derby.

My previous posts about roller derby can be found on my other blog, Fuck Normativity, however I will be posting a timeline to this point in an upcoming entry.

About Alicia

TV addict. Activist. Burlesque Dancer. Political Economy MA. Queer Theorist. Feminist. Cat Lady. View all posts by Alicia

Leave a Reply

